Rhode Island’s Online Reference Center provided by Providence Public Library with the support of OLIS (Office of Library and Information Services). Students, jobseekers, librarians and educators, and the curious can all reach the information they need. Includes Homework help, World Book Encyclopedia, Mango Languages, and much more. Free for Rhode Island residents.
Biography Reference Center provides thousands of reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography Today and Biography, plus narrative biographies not available in other databases. In addition to keyword search, users can browse biographies by reading level indicators (Lexiles), source types, subject occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan and more.
Find information on accredited business schools in the US. Tips on how to choose a business schools that fits your needs. Breakdown of popular business school rankings, and how to best use that information. In-depth business school information by state.
The popular driver education platform Driving-Tests.org is now available for free through the Barrington Public Library. Patrons can access Driving-Tests to start preparing for their DMV knowledge exam by https://barringtonpl.driving-tests.org/rhode-island. Tests can be accessed from any computer or mobile device. With the motto of "everyone can be a safe driver," Driving-Tests provides Barrington Public Library patrons with unlimited access to official state driver's manuals, online practice tests for car, motorcycle and commercial driver's license (CDL), an exam simulator, and a DMV-related FAQ.
Download eBooks, eAudiobooks or stream movies for free from the library's eZone for Teens.
"You can learn anything." Learn for free about math, art, computer programming, economics, physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, finance, history, and more.
Provides practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.
Rhode Island Middle School Book Award was created to target students in grades 6, 7, and 8. The committee is made up of librarians, school librarians, teachers and community members who work with children in this age range. Every year the committee announces the nominees and distributes the list to all Rhode Island educators and librarians. The full list is also available in the public catalog.
The poetry and plays of William Shakespeare compiled by students at MIT.
Tutor.com provides online, on-demand academic tutoring, homework help, and test preparation to kindergarten through 12th grade students, plus early college students and adult learners. Tutor is available 7 days a week from 2pm – 10pm. No appointment necessary. Tutor.com is a service of the Princeton Review. Freely provided by Providence Public Library and OLIS.
Wolfram Alpha is a computational search engine, or "answer engine.” Search box accepts natural language input in keyword, phrase, or sentence format, as well as mathematical equations. Information provided by subject specialists and field professionals.