Databases A-Z

Information on frauds and scams, gift cards and fraud, retirement and estate planning advice.

Scholarly resource provides indexing and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. PDF back files to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals.

Discover your family history and start your family tree with Ancestry. Try free and access billions of genealogy records including Census, SSDI & Military records.

Rhode Island’s Online Reference Center provided by Providence Public Library with the support of OLIS (Office of Library and Information Services).  Students, jobseekers, librarians and educators, and the curious can all reach the information they need. Includes Homework help, World Book Encyclopedia, Mango Languages, and much more. Free for Rhode Island residents.

Find contact information and more about 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and more. Get the app for iOS.

DIY auto repair from EBSCO. Repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs, and updates are added on a regular basis. All content has been created by ASE certified technicians.

Report scams and identity theft, check ratings and complaints on local businesses.

Biography Reference Center provides thousands of reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography Today and Biography, plus narrative biographies not available in other databases. In addition to keyword search, users can browse biographies by reading level indicators (Lexiles), source types, subject occupation, nationality, activity, gender, lifespan and more.

Reviews, reading guides, book discussions, read-alikes and much more. Subscribe to our free newsletter!

CDC is the nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health. For more than 70 years, we’ve put science into action to help children stay healthy so they can grow and learn; to help families, businesses, and communities fight disease and stay strong; and to protect the public’s health.

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. New England historic newspapers, including Rhode Island, are included. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.

Provides independent reviews, age ratings, and other information about all types of media, including books, movies, and series.

Government agency that protects consumers from unfair, deceptive, or abusive practices and take action against companies that break the law. They arm people with the information, steps, and tools that they need to make smart financial decisions.

Easily accessible and understandable health and medical information for the everyday consumer. Search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.

Search and scan through a vast, openly available collection of American items, including books, documents, works of art, science, and records of America’s heritage. Search millions of items by timeline, map, format, subject, and partner. 

An online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

2017 edition. Released by the Division of Municipal Finance and also available at www.municipalfinance.ri.gov/resources/directory.

Find information on accredited business schools in the US. Tips on how to choose a business schools that fits your needs. Breakdown of popular business school rankings, and how to best use that information. In-depth business school information by state.

The popular driver education platform Driving-Tests.org is now available for free through the Barrington Public Library. Patrons can access Driving-Tests to start preparing for their DMV knowledge exam by https://barringtonpl.driving-tests.org/rhode-island. Tests can be accessed from any computer or mobile device. With the motto of "everyone can be a safe driver," Driving-Tests provides Barrington Public Library patrons with unlimited access to official state driver's manuals, online practice tests for car, motorcycle and commercial driver's license (CDL), an exam simulator, and a DMV-related FAQ.

A single search box for direct access to full-text content available through AskRI databases.

Offers access to education literature and resources. Database contains more than 1,243,000 records and links to more than 224,000 full-text documents.

With all the information (and misinformation) available on the Internet, this tutorial created by the National Library of Medicine shows you how to evaluate health information found on the Web.

Download eBooks, eAudiobooks (including narrated picture books) and stream movies for free from the library's eZone for Kids.

Download eBooks, eAudiobooks or stream movies for free from the library's eZone for Teens.

Flipster offers an easy, browse-able reading experience. Browse magazines by category as well as perform searches for specific periodicals. An online newsstand provides a carousel of the most recent issues, as well as a carousel of all issues allowing for quick access to magazines. The table of contents contains links for quick access to articles of interest and hotlinks within magazines are hyperlinked, opening in separate tabs when clicked. In addition, there is an option to zoom in and out for better readability. Flipster is brought to you by AskRI.org.

Features over 25,000 informative segments of the encyclopedia, with alphabetically arranged articles, illustrations and maps. Updated annually.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is an eBook collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials are searchable and indexed with full-text entries. You have the ability to print, download, cite, and email from the database. Remote password: 21332. [Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).]

Includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.

Comprehensive full-text history reference database, featuring full text for more than 2,400 reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books. Includes more than 61,100 historical documents; 66,000 historical biographies; more than 110,200 photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.

 "You can learn anything."  Learn for free about math, art, computer programming, economics, physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, finance, history, and more.

Kid's Money helps kids build smart money habits and helps parents and teachers educate kids on important personal finance topics. 

The #1 Kids safe search engine powered by Google.

Provides practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life.

Full-text database of more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism; more than 252,000 author biographies; also includes over 693,000 book reviews, author interviews and information on classic and contemporary poems, short stories, classic texts and more.

Various maps of the Town of Barrington, including Web GIS, street, tax, and zoning. 

Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.Get the App: iOS, Android

Contains the full text for nearly 1,750 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Includes full text for nearly 500 reference books, 86,017 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an image collection of 341,655 photo, maps and flags.

The place to start for quality health information in both English and Spanish. The site offers hundreds of health topics, drug information, interactive health check tools, surgery videos, and much more. 

The best first place to go for medical information, including COVID-19. The Manual contains general medical information about thousands of diseases and symptoms in all fields of medicine. Professional Version: Detailed medical information for health care professionals and students. Consumer Version: Easier to understand information on the same topics as the professional version but focused on patients, parents and caregivers. The Consumer Version also contains Quick Facts, which are shorter, easier to read versions of selected consumer topics. You can toggle to Quick Facts from a topic page or select them from a search result. You also can toggle between Professional and Consumer versions using buttons on each page. 

The best first place to go for veterinary information. The Manual contains general medical information about thousands of diseases and symptoms in all fields of medicine.

NIA, one of the 27 Institutes and Centers of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), leads a broad scientific effort to understand the nature of aging and to extend the healthy, active years of life. NIA is the primary Federal agency supporting and conducting Alzheimer's disease and related dementias research.

NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues. America’s News has over 3,600 sources around the country and over 190 image editions for titles such as the Providence Journal (2017-current) and Newport Daily News (2019-current).

Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. Heritage Hub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images. Access is available 24/7.

Search full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and more from current and archived issues of the Providence Journal (1981-current). Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Find your next great read! Recommended reading lists for adults, teens and kids. Includes author and title read-alikes, genre outlines, book discussion guides, award lists & more. Check the Library Catalog from your selection!

Powered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Science, Nutrition.gov offers credible information to help you make healthful eating choices.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is the government's premier source of career guidance featuring hundreds of occupations. It includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings and job outlook for hundreds of different occupations in the United States. Provided by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Get the CareerInfo app for the Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH), available for iOS and for Android devices.

The Federal Trade Commission has created a Consumer Information resource called "...Pass It On"  with a variety of articles, presentations, video and activities to help you start a conversation and pass on some information that could help someone you know. Topics include identity theft, imposter scams, charity scams, health care scams, home repair scams and more!

Contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.

This gateway is designed to help you access the tools that you will need to plan, start, and maintain your business or non-profit. Created the RI Department of State.

Annually children in grades 3 to 6 have the opportunity to vote on their favorite book from a ballot of 20 selections nominated for the Rhode Island Children’s Book Award by a panel of librarians, reading specialists and teachers. Children vote as part of their class or with their local public library. The award began in 1990 as a joint project of the RI State Council of the International Reading Association, RILA and RIEMA, under the coordination of RI OLIS.

Rhode Island Middle School Book Award was created to target students in grades 6, 7, and 8. The committee is made up of librarians, school librarians, teachers and community members who work with children in this age range. Every year the committee announces the nominees and distributes the list to all Rhode Island educators and librarians. The full list is also available in the public catalog.

School Library Journal's list of the top 100 Children's Novels of all time.

Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images - no need for attribution. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to more than 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from the Smithsonian collections. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

StampWorld.com is a complete online catalogue of all the stamps that has ever been made in the world. It's a meeting place where users can get to know all about stamp collecting. A place to discuss and buy/sell stamps. You can either browse and search the website, or create a free account. There is a cost if you would like to upgrade your membership. 

Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 periodicals. Topics include assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, teacher education and much more.

The poetry and plays of William Shakespeare compiled by students at MIT.

Current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms.

Code of the Town of Barrington, RI. Print edition available at the reference desk.

Tutor.com provides online, on-demand academic tutoring, homework help, and test preparation to kindergarten through 12th grade students, plus early college students and adult learners. Tutor is available 7 days a week from 2pm – 10pm. No appointment necessary. Tutor.com is a service of the Princeton Review. Freely provided by Providence Public Library and OLIS. 

Gale Presents: Udemy For Libraries can help improve your career skills or develop a personal interest with access to more than 4,000 continuously updated, on-demand video courses. Explore the many options across 75 categories in business, technology, design, and more taught by world-class instructors. Certificates of completion are available. Access is provided by AskRI.org. Use your Ocean State Libraries card barcode to create and access an account. Download the Udemy Business app and unleash your potential. If prompted for an organization's account, please type "gale" into the search box. Available for iOS and Android.

Whether you’re a beginning investor or a veteran looking for high-impact ideas, Value Line can position you for financial success quickly and easily. The uncontested authority in reliable, unbiased information, Value Line puts you in the driver’s seat with accurate and insightful investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies. From the latest data, sophisticated tools and proven ranks to expert analysis and guidance, Value Line gives you the power to evaluate investments with confidence. Make smarter, more profitable decisions with Value Line. Remote access requires a Barrington Public Library card number starting with 21332. 

Wolfram Alpha is a computational search engine, or "answer engine.” Search box accepts natural language input in keyword, phrase, or sentence format, as well as mathematical equations. Information provided by subject specialists and field professionals.

Find a world of facts to explore in Kids—the website specially designed just for young students! All students and especially visual learners will instantly be enthralled with images, videos, and maps that grab their attention and help them learn.

World Book offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides.

Numismatic coins catalog with images and descriptions, coins price guide, coins values.

Provides toolkits to give you ways to improve your well-being in different areas of your life. Created and reviewed by the National Institutes of Health.